NASCAR Announces 2018 Hall of Fame Nominees

Twenty potential inductees include notables from the sports many eras.


NASCAR announced today the 20 individuals eligible to earn entry into the NASCAR Hall of Fame during the 2018 induction ceremony. The list includes drivers, crew chiefs, team owners and a notable broadcaster.

Davey Allison

A 19-time winner of Cup Series events, Allison was tragically taken too early in a helicopter crash. Son of 2011 Hall of Fame inductee Bobby Allison.

Buddy Baker

The popular gentle giant won the 1980 Daytona 500. At 6ft 6in, Baker was an imposing figure outside the race car and a fearsome competitor inside one. Buddy passed away in 2015 at the age of 74.

Red Byron

NASCAR’s first Cup Series National Champion in 1949. Previously honored as one of NASCAR’s 50 Greatest Drivers.

Ray Evernham

Crew chief for three of Jeff Gordon’s Championships. Team owner of Evernham Motorsports and announcer for ESPN/ABC NASCAR coverage.

Red Farmer

One of the greatest late model race car drivers of all time. Named one of NASCAR’s 50 Greatest Drivers. Farmer, a passenger in the helicopter, survived the crash that took the life of Davey Allison.

Ray Fox

Not as well-known as some of the other nominees. Fox was a crew chief and car owner who worked with some of the early greats in NASCAR, Fireball Roberts, Buck Baker, and Tim Flock.

Joe Gibbs

Already enshrined in the Pro Football Hall of Fame, Gibbs looks for his second hall induction. Three-time Super Bowl Champion, four-time NASCAR Cup Series Champion.

Ron Hornaday Jr.

Four-time NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Champion. Second generation driver and father of third generation driver Ronnie Hornaday.

Harry Hyde

Famed crew chief of the 1960’s and 70’s. Hyde won the Cup Series Championship in 1970 with Bobby Isaac as his driver. Hyde’s drivers won 88 poles during his career. In addition to Isaac, Hyde crewed cars for Buddy Baker, Dave Marcis, Neil Bonnett, Geoff Bodine, Tim Richmond, Benny Parsons, and Ken Schrader.

Alan Kulwicki

The 92 Cup Series Champion, Kulwicki introduced the Polish Victory Lap. After his win in Phoenix in 1988, Kulwicki drove the wrong around the track to celebrate the victory.

Bobby Labonte

Labonte won the 2000 Cup Series Championship. He would love to follow brother Terry Labonte, a 2016 inductee, into the prestigious hall.

Hershel McGriff

NASCAR West Series Champion in 1986 and a four-time winner in the Cup Series. McGriff ran a West Series race in 2012 at the age of 84.

Roger Penske

The Captain hardly needs an introduction. Membership in the exclusive NASCAR Hall of Fame would be one of the few accolades Penske has yet to add to his racing resume.

Larry Phillips

Phillips mastery of short-track racing earned him five Championships in the NASCAR Weekly Series. He was first nominated to the Hall in 2013.

Jack Roush

Famed team owner who earned the nickname “Cat-in-the-Hat” for his ever-present Panama hat. Roush is just as well known for his business enterprises Roush Industries and Roush Performance as his race team Roush Fenway Racing.

Ken Squier

One of the most recognized voices in the days of early NASCAR flag-to-flag television coverage. Credited with coining the Daytona 500 nickname “The Great American Race.”

Mike Stefanik

A seven-time NASCAR Modified Tour Champion. In 2003, Stefanik was honored as the second greatest NASCAR Modified racer of all-time.

Ricky Rudd

Another one of NASCAR’s 50 Greatest Drivers. Rudd won the 1997 running of the Brickyard 400 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Waddell Wilson

As an engine builder and crew chief, Wilson worked with many of the sports superstars. Mario Andretti, A. J. Foyt, Junior Johnson, and Cale Yarborough are but a few of his contemporaries. Wilson won the Daytona 500 as a crew chief three times.

Robert Yates

As a NASCAR team owner, Yates is a Daytona 500 winner and Cup Series Champion. Most recently noted as one of the premier engine builders on the circuit.

Courtesy of NASCAR Hall of Fame