Detroit’s Rocket Mortgage Classic Final Field Set


The Inaugural Rocket Mortgage Classic PGA Tour Event coming to Detroit Golf Club has created quite the buzz this year.  World’s #1 Golfer Dustin Johnson, Along with Rickie Fowler and Bubba Watson, are just a few of the stars you can expect to see.

The majority of the 156-player field for next week’s $7.3 million Rocket Mortgage Classic, the first PGA TOUR tournament to ever be held in Detroit, was finalized today. The 72-hole event will be played June 27-30 at the historic, Donald Ross-designed Detroit Golf Club, with the inaugural winner set to earn the $1,314,000 top prize and 500 FedExCup points.

Rickie Fowler – Photo Courtesy of

The Rocket Mortgage Classic field features 76 PGA TOUR winners – including eight major champions and 15 golfers who have won during this 2018-19 PGA TOUR season. Ten players currently ranked within the top 30 of the current PGA TOUR FedExCup standings:

The field features 11 of the top 50 players in the Official World Golf Ranking, including:

  • No. 2 Dustin Johnson – 2016 U.S. Open champion and 20-time PGA TOUR winner
  • No. 12 Gary Woodland – 2019 U.S. Open winner
  • No. 14 Rickie Fowler – Five-time PGA TOUR winner; 2015 THE PLAYERS champ
  • No. 22 Bubba Watson – 2012 & 2014 Masters champion; 12-time PGA TOUR winner
  • No. 25 Patrick Reed – 2018 Masters champion and six-time PGA TOUR winner
  • No. 27 Kevin Kisner – 2019 WGC-Dell Technologies Match Play champion
  • No. 28 Hideki Matsuyama – Five-time PGA TOUR champ; 2017 WGC-HSBC winner
  • No. 36 Cameron Smith – 2017 Zurich Classic winner
  • No. 38 Billy Horschel – 2015 FedExCup champion
  • No. 44 Brandt Snedeker – 2012 FedExCup champ, 2007 PGA TOUR Rookie of the Year
  • No. 48 Chez Reavie – 2008 RBC Canadian Open winner; T3 at the 2019 U.S. Open

Other notable players include:

  • Ernie Els – World Golf Hall of Famer, 19-time PGA TOUR winner and four-time major champion (1994 and 1997 U.S. Open, 2002 and 2012 British Open). Els, a native of South Africa, has also won 47 times internationally and has played on eight Presidents Cup teams. In 1997, he tied for second in the Buick Open at Warwick Hills.
  • Luke Donald – Former No. 1 player in the world
  • Jason Dufner – 2013 PGA Championship winner
  • J.B. Holmes – 2019 Genesis Open winner
  • Charles Howell III – 2001 PGA TOUR Rookie of the Year
  • Billy Hurley III – 2016 Quicken Loans National winner
  • Curtis Luck – 2016 U.S. Amateur champion (played at Oakland Hills CC)
  • Keith Mitchell – 2019 Honda Classic winner
  • Jimmy Walker – 2016 PGA Championship winner
  • Mike Weir – Sponsor exemption; 2003 Masters champion

Players with local ties:

  • Joey Garber – Born in Petoskey, Mich.
  • Lee Houtteman – Michigan PGA section champion
  • Brian Stuard – Born and raised in Jackson, Mich. Graduated from Napoleon High School in 2001. Played collegiately at Oakland University in Rochester, Mich.

The Rocket Mortgage Classic also awarded sponsor exemptions to three players who will make their second professional start on the PGA TOUR – 2019 Masters and 2019 U.S. Open low amateur Viktor Hovland (the world’s top-ranked amateur before turning pro earlier this week), 2019 NCAA Division I Individual champion Matthew Wolff and Zach Bauchou – and Justin Suh, the world’s No. 2-ranked amateur in May who is set to make his third pro start.

The final Rocket Mortgage Classic field, minus four Monday qualifiers and two TOUR qualifiers to be determined, is listed below:

Rocket Mortgage Classic Final Field (150 of 156 players)

Albertson, Anders

An, Byeong Hun

Ancer, Abraham

Armour, Ryan

Bae, Sangmoon

Bauchou, Zach +

Blaum, Ryan

Blixt, Jonas

Brown, Scott

Burgoon, Bronson

Burns, Sam

Castro, Roberto

Cauley, Bud

Cejka, Alex

Champ, Cameron

Chin, John

Cink, Stewart

Clark, Wyndham

Claxton, Will

Collins, Chad

Conners, Corey

Cook, Austin

Davis, Cameron

Díaz, Roberto

Donald, Luke

Dufner, Jason

Duncan, Tyler

Els, Ernie

English, Harris

Etulain, Julián

Fowler, Rickie

Frittelli, Dylan

Garber, Joey

Garnett, Brice

Gay, Brian

Gómez, Fabián

Gribble, Cody

Hadley, Chesson

Harkins, Brandon

Harman, Brian

Henley, Russell

Henry, J.J.

Herman, Jim

Hickok, Kramer

Hoffman, Charley

Hoffmann, Morgan

Hoge, Tom

Holmes, J.B.

Homa, Max

Horschel, Billy

Hossler, Beau

Houtteman, Lee #

Hovland, Viktor +

Howell III, Charles

Hughes, Mackenzie

Hurley III, Billy +

Im, Sungjae

Jacobson, Freddie

Jaeger, Stephan

Johnson, Dustin

Jones, Kyle

Jones, Matt

Kang, Sung

Kaufman, Smylie

Kim, Michael

Kim, Si Woo

Kim, Whee

Kisner, Kevin

Kizzire, Patton

Knost, Colt

Knous, Jim

Kodaira, Satoshi

Kokrak, Jason

Kraft, Kelly

Lahiri, Anirban

Laird, Martin

Landry, Andrew

Langley, Scott

Lebioda, Hank

Lee, Danny

Lee, Kyoung-Hoon

Lindheim, Nicholas

List, Luke

Long, Adam

Luck, Curtis

Mahan, Hunter

Malnati, Peter

Matsuyama, Hideki

McCarthy, Denny

Merritt, Troy

Mitchell, Keith

Moore, Ryan

Mullinax, Trey

Muñoz, Sebastián

Niemann, Joaquin

Ortiz, Carlos

Pampling, Rod

Pan, C.T.

Poston, J.T.

Potter, Jr., Ted

Power, Seamus

Prugh, Alex

Reavie, Chez

Reed, Patrick

Reeves, Seth

Roach, Wes

Rodríguez, José de Jesús

Ryder, Sam

Sabbatini, Rory

Saunders, Sam

Schenk, Adam

Schnell, Brady

Schniederjans, Ollie

Silverman, Ben

Sloan, Roger

Smith, Cameron

Snedeker, Brandt

Spaun, J.J.

Stallings, Scott

Stanley, Kyle

Steele, Brendan

Stefani, Shawn

Straka, Sepp

Streb, Robert

Streelman, Kevin

Stroud, Chris

Stuard, Brian

Sucher, Zack

Suh, Justin +

Svensson, Adam

Swafford, Hudson

Taylor, Nick

Taylor, Vaughn

Teater, Josh

Thompson, Chris

Thompson, Michael

Trainer, Martin

Tringale, Cameron

Tway, Kevin

Uihlein, Peter

Varner III, Harold

Vermeer, Ryan

Walker, Jimmy

Watney, Nick

Watson, Bubba

Weir, Mike +

Werenski, Richy

Wise, Aaron

Wolff, Matthew +

Woodland, Gary

Wright, Chase


* Open Qualifier

+ Sponsor Exemption

# Section Champion