Eli Tomac Captures Win and Points Lead at Tampa Monster Energy Supercross

Raymond James Stadium, Tampa, FL — February 15, 2020

The Monster Energy AMA Supercross Series made its first East Coast stop of the year in Tampa. The 250SX riders showed their eagerness to get on the track by being fast out of the gate. The 450SX points battle took a shakeup with Eli Tomac continuing his run of podium finishes.


In Heat #1 Shane McElrath(12) served notice he was the man to beat. Fast on the start, McElrath jumped out to a big lead and continued to grow it throughout the moto. The second heat had last year’s East Champion Chase Sexton(1E) taking the win. Sexton had to battle back from a poor start. He did not panic and rode through the field at a study pace. The moto featured a local Michigan rider. Metamora native Joey Crown(355), a rising star in the sport, finished 8th qualifying for the Main Event.

The 250SX Main looked the same as Heat #1, McElrath drove straight to the front never to be seen again by the rest of the field.

McElrath(12) out of the first corner and into the lead. / Lasco Press Photo

Sexton had to battle his teammate, Jeremy Martin(6) to earn the 2nd spot. Martin made the podium holding onto 3rd to the finish.

Sexton and Martin battle for position / Lasco Press Photo

Michigan’s Joey Crown rode a solid moto and finished in the 8th spot in the main. We will be following his progress as the East Coast 250SX season continues.

Joey Crown, Michigan Rider in the Monster Energy AMA Supercross series / Lasco Press Photo

250SX East Main Event Results

Rider Interval Best Lap Hometown Machine
1 Shane McElrath Shane McElrath 19 Laps 49.884 Canton, NC Yamaha YZ250F
2 Chase Sexton Chase Sexton +02.962 49.838 La Moille, IL Honda CRF250R
3 Jeremy Martin Jeremy Martin +07.263 50.146 Millville, MN Honda CRF250R
4 Garrett Marchbanks Garrett Marchbanks +12.535 49.948 Coalville, UT Kawasaki KX250
5 Jordon Smith Jordon Smith +14.349 50.059 Belmont, NC Kawasaki KX250
6 R.J. Hampshire R.J. Hampshire +33.208 49.740 Hudson, FL Husqvarna FC 250
7 Kyle Peters Kyle Peters +42.132 51.970 Greensboro, NC Honda CRF250R
8 Joey Crown Joey Crown +45.003 52.033 Metamora, MI Yamaha YZ250F
9 Jimmy Decotis Jimmy Decotis +46.181 51.955 Peabody, MA Suzuki RM-Z250
10 Jo Shimoda Jo Shimoda +47.256 51.874 Winchester, CA Honda CRF250R
11 Jace Owen Jace Owen 18 Laps 51.999 Mattoon, IL Honda CRF250R
12 Josh Hill Josh Hill +01.572 51.959 Yoncalla, OR Yamaha YZ250F
13 Cedric Soubeyras Cedric Soubeyras +01.855 52.556 Entraigues Sue, France Husqvarna FC 250
14 Nick Gaines Nick Gaines +07.700 52.233 Ringgold, GA Yamaha YZ250F
15 John Short John Short +12.937 52.465 Pilot Point, TX Honda CRF250R
16 Jerry Robin Jerry Robin +14.525 52.440 Hamel, MN Honda CRF250R
17 Jordan Bailey Jordan Bailey +31.805 52.741 Orlando, FL Honda CRF250R
18 Hunter Sayles Hunter Sayles +34.133 53.787 Merrill, WI KTM 250 SX-F
19 Enzo Lopes Enzo Lopes +35.617 52.503 Brazil Yamaha YZ250F
20 Justin Starling Justin Starling +56.570 53.889 Deland, FL Honda CRF250R
21 Isaac Teasdale Isaac Teasdale 17 Laps 53.616 Robbinsville, NC Suzuki RM-Z250
22 Curren Thurman Curren Thurman 3 Laps 57.130 Rosharon, TX KTM 250 SX-F

Results Courtesy of https://racerxonline.com/


Eli Tomac(3) continued his hot streak taking the Heat #1 victory over Malcolm Stewart(27) and defending 450SX Champion Cooper Webb(1).

Current Points leader Ken Roczen(94) won Heat #2 over Adam Cianciarulo(9). Setting up the battle in the Main Event with Tomac who trails by a single point in the season-long standings.

Vince Friese(64) grabbed the holeshot at the start of the 450SX Main, his lead was short-lived as Cianciarulo passed and Tomac followed shortly after. Cianciarulo was out front for 10 laps until Tomac worked his way past.

Tomac makes the pass on Cianciarulo during the 450SX Main in Tampa / Lasco Press Photo

Ken Roczen(94) was making a move towards the front when he encountered trouble negotiating a turn and went down.

Roczen drops his bike in the sharp right-hand turn / Lasco Press Photo

Trouble also bit Cianciarulo as he got tangled up with a tuff block just before the start/finish line jump. It took Adam some time to free himself and rejoin the race. The wreck proved costly as he could only manage a 9th place finish on the night.

Costly crash for Adam Cianciarulo / Lasco Press Photo

Defending Champion Cooper Webb(1) stayed out of trouble and worked his way into the 2nd spot behind winner Eli Tomac. Roczen recovered from his incident to make the podium in the 3rd position.

Eli Tomac, the 450SX winner in Tampa / Lasco Press Photo
Defending Champion Cooper Webb takes 2nd / Lasco Press

450SX Main Event Results

Rider Interval Best Lap Hometown Machine
1 Eli Tomac Eli Tomac 26 Laps 48.167 Cortez, CO Kawasaki KX450
2 Cooper Webb Cooper Webb +07.290 48.888 Newport, NC KTM 450 SX-F
3 Ken Roczen Ken Roczen +18.043 48.848 Mattstedt, Germany Honda CRF450R
4 Justin Barcia Justin Barcia +24.117 49.412 Monroe, NY Yamaha YZ450F
5 Justin Hill Justin Hill +24.510 49.591 Yoncalla, OR Honda CRF450R
6 Dean Wilson Dean Wilson +26.761 49.637 Scotland, United Kingdom Husqvarna FC 450
7 Malcolm Stewart Malcolm Stewart +28.314 48.813 Haines City, FL Honda CRF450R
8 Adam Cianciarulo Adam Cianciarulo +28.968 48.518 Port Orange, FL Kawasaki KX450
9 Justin Brayton Justin Brayton +31.812 49.335 Fort Dodge, IA Kawasaki KX450
10 Jason Anderson Jason Anderson +31.813 49.304 Edgewood, NM Husqvarna FC 450
11 Zach Osborne Zach Osborne +44.114 49.944 Abingdon, VA Husqvarna FC 450
12 Broc Tickle Broc Tickle +44.644 50.153 Holly, MI Suzuki RM-Z450
13 Vince Friese Vince Friese 25 Laps 50.140 Cape Girardeau, MO Honda CRF450R
14 Martin Davalos Martin Davalos +00.313 50.150 Quito, Ecuador KTM 450 SX-F
15 Tyler Bowers Tyler Bowers +08.666 50.376 Danville, KY Kawasaki KX450
16 Aaron Plessinger Aaron Plessinger +09.643 49.757 Hamilton, OH Yamaha YZ450F
17 Kyle Chisholm Kyle Chisholm +25.006 51.291 Clearwater, FL Yamaha YZ450F
18 Kyle Cunningham Kyle Cunningham +38.583 50.865 Aledo, TX Suzuki RM-Z450
19 Chad Reed Chad Reed +51.730 50.720 Kurri Kurri, Australia Honda CRF450R
20 Ryan Breece Ryan Breece 24 Laps 50.817 Coeur D’ Alene, ID Suzuki RM-Z450
21 Adam Enticknap Adam Enticknap +06.854 52.015 Lompoc, CA Suzuki RM-Z450
22 Blake Baggett Blake Baggett DNS Grand Terrace, CA KTM 450 SX-F

Results Courtesy of https://racerxonline.com/

450SX Standings

With the win, Tomac passes Roczen in the points race. Webb lost ground, despite finishing 2nd and sits 11 back of Tomac. Adam Cianciarulo by virtue of his 9th place finish dropped to 5th in the standings, 28 behind the leader.

Position Rider Points
1 Eli Tomac 155
2 Ken Roczen 151
3 Cooper Webb 144
4 Justin Barcia 135
5 Adam Cianciarulo 127
6 Jason Anderson 118
7 Malcolm Stewart 106
8 Justin Brayton 102
9 Justin Hill 93
10 Blake Baggett 91


Next up is Arlington, Texas as the series pays a visit to AT&T Stadium, then it’s on to Atlanta for a February 29th Leap Year event.