Monster Energy AMA Supercross Season to Open January 16th

0
1138
Fenton, MI — December 17th, 2020

The opening of the 2021 Monster Energy AMA Supercross season is just around the corner. The first event is scheduled for NRG Stadium in Houston, Texas. That’s right Texas, not California. It will be the first time in 25 years that the series has not debuted on the West Coast.

COVID Safety

With the desire to welcome fans back to the pits and event arenas, organizers are setting a schedule that highlights locations with reasonable COVID restrictions. That does not mean there will be no pandemic protocols in place. Crowds will be limited to 20 or 25 percent capacity, masks are mandatory, riders and team personnel will be confined to a “bubble” in place at all events.

Dave Prater from Feld Entertainment stated the promoter’s commitment to fan safety. “Our intent is to open the pits and (sponsor) activation area to fans. Obviously, that would be a modified experience. We want to keep the bubble we’re working in separate, but we will allow fans into the pits during the 12-6 p.m. time-frame.”

For more information consult the Supercross Live web page “Fan Wellness”

New Competition in the 450SX Class

Eli Tomac will be back to defend his 450SX championship. He will have some new riders gunning for him as Chase Sexton, Shane McElrath, Dylan Ferrandis move up from the 250SX class to challenge the sport’s elite. Sexton was the 2020 250SX East Champion, McElrath the runner-up. Ferrandis won the 2020 250SX West Championship.

Complete Scheduled Announced

Detroit does not appear on the 2021 Supercross Schedule and the 17 rounds will feature 7 locations with multiple events at all but Daytona International Speedway. Orlando and Atlanta are new venues with motos at Camping World Stadium and Atlanta Motor Speedway. Rice-Eccles Stadium in Salt Lake City will again host the final two rounds on consecutive Saturdays April 24th and May 1st.

ROUND 1 – Saturday, January 16 | Houston, TX (E) | NRG Stadium
ROUND 2 – Tuesday, January 19 | Houston, TX (E) | NRG Stadium
ROUND 3 – Saturday, January 23 | Houston, TX (E) | NRG Stadium
ROUND 4 – Saturday, January 30 | Indianapolis, IN (E) | Lucas Oil Stadium
ROUND 5 – Tuesday, February 2 | Indianapolis, IN (E) | Lucas Oil Stadium
ROUND 6 – Saturday, February 6 | Indianapolis, IN (E) | Lucas Oil Stadium
ROUND 7 – Saturday, February 13 | Orlando, FL (E) | Camping World Stadium
ROUND 8 – Saturday, February 20 | Orlando, FL (W) | Camping World Stadium
ROUND 9 – Saturday, March 6 | Daytona Beach, FL (W) | Daytona International Speedway
ROUND 10 – Saturday, March 13 | Arlington, TX (W) | AT&T Stadium
ROUND 11 – Tuesday, March 16 | Arlington, TX (W) | AT&T Stadium
ROUND 12 – Saturday, March 20 | Arlington, TX (W) | AT&T Stadium
ROUND 13 – Saturday, April 10 | Atlanta, GA (W) | Atlanta Motor Speedway
ROUND 14 – Tuesday, April 13 | Atlanta, GA (W) | Atlanta Motor Speedway
ROUND 15 – Saturday, April 17 | Atlanta, GA (W) | Atlanta Motor Speedway
ROUND 16 – Saturday, April 24 | Salt Lake City, UT (E) | Rice-Eccles Stadium
ROUND 17 – Saturday, May 1 | Salt Lake City, UT (E/W) | Rice-Eccles Stadium

Ticket information is available online at https://www.supercrosslive.com/tickets.