Lineup Set for NASCAR’s Busch Clash Tuesday Night @ Daytona

Daytona International Speedway, Daytona Beach, FL — February 8, 2021

The Busch Clash kicks off the NASCAR pre-season and SpeedWeeks Tuesday, February 9th at 7 pm on the road course at Daytona International Speedway. The 43rd edition of the annual non-points invitational race will be run on a road course for the 1st time. Television coverage begins on FS1 at 6 pm with a pre-race show.

Drivers can qualify for the event in several different ways, invitations are extended to:

  • 2020 Busch Pole Award winners
  • Past Busch Clash winners who competed full-time in 2020
  • DAYTONA 500 champions who competed full-time in 2020
  • Former DAYTONA 500 Busch Pole winners who competed full-time in 2020
  • 2020 NASCAR Cup Series Playoff drivers
  • 2020 NASCAR Cup Series race winners
  • 2020 NASCAR Cup Series stage winners

Daytona International Speedway Road Course

NASCAR first used Daytona’s road course for their 3 national series in August of last year as a replacement for the scheduled weekend at Watkins Glen that was canceled due to COVID-19. Chase Elliott was the winner of the Go Bowling 235 that ran 65 laps on the challenging layout.

The course consists of 14-turns over its 3.61-mile distance and incorporates a portion of the tri-oval into its design. The Clash will feature 35 laps with a scheduled caution at Lap 15.

Crew Chiefs for the 21 drivers participating met via Zoom with Track President Chip Wile to draw for starting positions. The drama was hosted on Daytona’s Facebook Page.

The Starting Lineup for the 2021 Busch Clash at the Daytona Road Course

Position Driver Car Number Team
1 Ryan Blaney* 12 Team Penske
2 Alex Bowman 48 Hendrick Motorsports
3 Denny Hamlin 11 Joe Gibbs Racing
4 Brad Keselowski* 2 Team Penske
5 William Byron 24 Hendrick Motorsports
6 Tyler Reddick 8 Richard Childress Racing
7 Chase Elliott 9 Hendrick Motorsports
8 Cole Custer* 41 Stewart-Haas Racing
9 Erik Jones 43 Richard Petty Motorsports
10 Joey Logano* 22 Team Penske
11 Ryan Newman* 6 Roush Fenway Racing
12 Matt DiBenedetto* 21 Wood Brothers Racing
13 Chris Buescher* 17 Roush Fenway Racing
14 Ty Dillon 23 23XI Racing
15 Kurt Busch 1 Chip Ganassi Racing
16 Kyle Busch 18 Joe Gibbs Racing
17 Kevin Harvick* 4 Stewart-Haas Racing
18 Martin Truex Jr. 19 Joe Gibbs Racing
19 Austin Dillon 3 Richard Childress Racing
20 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing
21 Aric Almirola* 10 Stewart-Haas Racing

*Ford Mustang Drivers